Paleo hummus – I licked the beater

25 Aug

Wow. I just made this paleo-themed hummus (legumes are banned under paleo, hence primal awesome people don’t eat chickpeas).

http://www.instructables.com/id/Paleo-Friendly-Hummus/#step1  I literally licked the blender – it was so damn delicious!

Basically all you do is combine and blend the following ingredients until creamy, smooth, and you lick the blender:

1 3/4 cup Zucchini (peeled, chopped)
1/2  Macadamia Nuts (unsalted…and if you can find raw, even better)
2 T Tahini
2 T Extra-Virgin Olive Oil
2 1/2 teas. Lemon Juice
1 clove of Garlic
1 teas. Sea Salt
1 slightly rounded teas. Cumin
2 Roasted Red Peppers

EXCEPT due to laziness, I left out the red peppers (or capsicums, as I prefer to call them) and added a PINCH of sweet paprika instead.

Absolutely exquisite! Check it out:

I licked the blender and said audibly, "Wow."

5 Responses to “Paleo hummus – I licked the beater”

  1. Max@flavortogofast September 1, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    hummus is definitely something I cheat paleo with and am excited to try this recipe so I can have my fix! thanks

    • primalawesome September 1, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

      You won’t regret it! I made another batch yesterday – delicious.

  2. Kevin Jaillet September 4, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Mind=Blown

    Now if you can just create a decent pita chip…

    I wonder if roasting the zucchini a bit first would take this recipe even further?

    • primalawesome September 4, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      Anything’s possible! Why not give it a go and report back? I’ll get to work on some nasty paleo chip substitute. (actually, my severely overcooked jerky makes a nice crunchy chip…)

      Tomas

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two all-beef patties, no special sauce or bun – recipe review « Primal Awesome - September 15, 2011

    […] Brown on both sides and until cooked through, then serve with your fave paleo sides! (I used fried eggplant and paleo hummus). […]

Leave a Reply

