How to deal with fish oil – try, try and try again!

30 Aug

I’m not super massively into supplements. I will take 24g whey protein after a workout, and I take a general multivitamin daily. But I prefer to get my nutrients from all the delicious wholefoods I eat every day. Let’s face it, I’d rather munch down on delicious food than just pop a few pills. But the one supplement I am cultishly devoted to is fish oil – loaded up with omega 3.

I won’t bore you all about the benefits of fish oil – if you really wanted to know you would Google it like I did. But here is a link if you are really lazy about fish oil and its possible benefits:

http://www.aminoz.com.au/fish-benefits-drawbacks-a-240.html

I now humour you with the various pitfalls I faced whilst ‘starting’ my fish oil intake 6 months ago.

Liquid fish oil: my health freak friend told me ‘just take it liquid –  it’s quicker’. Easier said than done! Just the thought of swallowing some oozy fish yuckiness down my throat makes me want to retch. Yeuchh! I have always had quite a weak stomach, y’see. But you can get a flavoured one – all better! So i got me some ‘Melrose’ liquid fishoil extra strong in lemon/lime flavour, and would down two tablespoons of it, closely followed by a semi-retching skolling of orange juice. I did this until the bottle ran out. Only problem was – it re4peated on me like a total PITA! I would be burping this fishy smell up for hours, and at times it even made me feel extremely physically ill. And not to mention the ‘loose stools’, if i may be so crude! Eventually, just the smell of lemon/lime made me want to spew. Not good.

Melrose fish oil - do not want

So I switched brands. ‘Ethical nutrients’ tropical fruit punch flavour. (Or should that be ‘tropical fish flavour’?) And this time I would stick a shot of it into a little glass of orange juice. This was much better – but i still had the chronic afterburps. It nearly ended in divorce. And plus, the smell of tropical punch OR orange juice started to become enough to make me throw up all my primal goodness all over the place. THIS WAS NOT IDEAL!

Expensive in legal fees

SO I change tack again – this time i went for 1500mg Nature’s Own capsules. I would pop about 5 of them daily. And these were the worst of all! They were the size of a small child, so gulping them down totally sucked, and they made me feel extremely violently ill afterwards – cramps, hot flushes, the works – it didn’t matter what time of day I took them or what I had eaten or anything.

So I switched brands AGAIN – and I have FINALLY landed on a fish oil regime that suits me. Blackmores 1000mg extra strong zero mercury fish oil capsules. They are smaller and thus easie4r to swallow, i suck down 6-8 per day, and I have NOT ONCE had any fishy aftertaste, afterburps, tummy issues, loose stools, sore tummy, lightheadedness – ANYTHING!

So odourless you will think you are hard of smelling!

So – there you go. That’s my fish oil adventure. I think the moral here is, don’t give up if it makes you feel like you are going to die, just switch brands and strength until you find one that suits.

4 Responses to “How to deal with fish oil – try, try and try again!”

  1. Colline August 30, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    I agree with you – getting all the nutrients you need from the food you eat is best. For my omega 3 supplement, however, I use flaxseed oil.

    • primalawesome September 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Yep! Have heard that’s a good alternative. Keep fighting the good fight!

  2. Tara August 31, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    Yuck, I can’t even imagine taking fish oil in liquid form! I’ll stick to my 6 capsules a day thanks!

    • primalawesome September 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Trust me – leave that curiosity untapped!

Leave a Reply

