Two all-beef patties, no special sauce or bun – recipe review

15 Sep

My friend Nathan from My Backwards Walk paleo day-in-the-life-style blog was always posting about his beef patties he would chow down for breakfast. Intrigued, I asked him exactly how he prepared these patties, which he ate in all kinds of paleoriffic combos. He said: beef mince, onion, garlic, and jalapeños for some excitement.

So decided to have a go myself, to give me a good low-carb readymade snack to have on hand at all times.

I did tweak the recipe slightly, being a wannabe foodie, as follows:

All-beef patties no special nothin’

500g minced beef (grassfed!! You know this!)
1 egg
Pinch dried oregano
2 birdseye chilis
Finely diced onion
2 cloves crushed garlic
Salt and pepper
Butter for cooking

Combine all except butter in a bowl and mash with your hands or a spoon (I hate the feeling of raw meat getting into all those crevices, so I used a spoon).

Heat some butter (or coconut oil if you prefer – I was concerned the flavour would be overpowering) in a flat pan and once it becomes frothy put four dollops of the meat mixture in the pan, then flatten with a spatula.

Brown on both sides and until cooked through, then serve with your fave paleo sides! (I used fried eggplant and paleo hummus).

They have a good kick to them from the chili and are packed with flavour!

20110915-100247.jpg

I have also since paired them with spinach and goats cheese – amazing! Thanks, Nathan 😉

Give it a try!

T

Leave a Reply

