AND speaking of pull ups – How-to video

16 Oct

Speaking of those pesky pull ups, I found this very useful video on how to progress from ‘I can raise my arms above my head, but that’s it’ to ‘I can grab hold of a horizontal bar and lift my full bodyweight up over it, whilst delivering a piece to camera (and wearing Vibrams!)’.

 

 

So far I can do 3 chin ups in a row, on a good day (a ‘Xena day’).

 

2 Responses to “AND speaking of pull ups – How-to video”

  1. Keith October 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    One problem exists in Mark’s example: he frequently reaches with his chin. The chin should be in a neutral position for better spinal alignment, leading to more efficient movement.

    Kelly Starrett had a blog post recently that explains this really well.

    http://www.mobilitywod.com/2011/10/episode-325365-stop-the-pull-up-chicken-necking-people.html

    • cavelesbian October 19, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      Thanks for the heads-up, Keith – I will definitely take this into account when perfecting my lifting!

Leave a Reply

