Paleo data smog – the sheep from the goats

30 Oct

After a while of following all these paleo bloggers and tweeters and facebookers and recipes and tips and articles and studies and podcasts and buying all their cookbooks and tshirts and paleosnacks and their particular take on things, it starts to all get a bit… samey. I never know which tip to follow next and which new supplement to take and which guru is more correct than another guru. And there seems to be a fair bit of paleo zealotry around too. Not to mention bickering with vegetarians and vegans and people with perfectly valid alternatives that work for them.

I guess what I’m saying is that paleo is not for everybody and it doesn’t need to be like a religion – just do it if it helps you feel better, lose weight, and get healthy. It works for me, it might for you. It has also opened my eyes to questioning conventional wisdom on nutrition.

And crossfit? For me, I’m not convinced. People love it but – too much “fucking around”, as Martin Berkhan would say. I’m happier just lifting heavy and then calling it a day. I don’t have the time or the inclination to run around like I’m part of a monkey herd swinging from monkey bars and flipping tyres. I have a set of weights in my spare room which present a perfect opportunity to build muscle and improve my body composition. Maybe one day I’ll change my mind. I am tempted by kettle bells. But I can do without all the self-congratulatory hysteria that goes along with ‘movements’ and, I suspect, scares away people who don’t want to join a tribe and just want to improve their health.

20111031-075614.jpg

3 Responses to “Paleo data smog – the sheep from the goats”

  1. blogattack November 13, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Man, I was trolling around chowstalker and they have a recipe of yours up there…. I have to say though, this post is by FAR the funnest I’ve read so far. My girlfriend and I are like, “Wait, there are MORE Paleo lesbians to be found in the world?”
    And can I also mention that my big issue with the crossfit philosophy is that, from what I’ve seen, it looks more like it’s a quantity versus quality thing – higher reps that sacrifice good form. From what I’ve read so far you’re completely hitting the nail on the head – I like it!

    • cavelesbian November 13, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      Why thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. I admit it was a bit of a tantrum but it had to be said! And yes completely agreed – I hate activities that sacrifice form for crazy, so I doubt I would get into crossfit at all. One of the reasons I haven’t attempted kettlebells yet is that I want to do it properly, not just start flinging weights around!

      • blogattack November 14, 2011 at 3:40 am #

        Oh I know – it always looks like people are just sort of… Swinging them. Like there’s nothing to it, and that could just get dangerous.

Leave a Reply

